Skip to main content

West Jordan Journal

Grizzlies Win Region 3 Wrestling Championship

Feb 20, 2015 10:43AM ● By Greg James

Copper Hills senior Braxton Weixler had a 43-7 regular season record wrestling at 285 pounds. He placed first in the section A state qualifier at Alta High School Feb. 7. Photo courtesy of

Victory Wrestling, a Jordan School District youth program, and Copper Hills High School’s wrestling program seem to have captured success in a bottle. The combined efforts of the youth and high school wrestling teams have helped Copper Hills send a school record 14 wrestlers to the state tournament this month.

“We increased the number of wrestlers we have. It is great to see,” Victory Wrestling Club coach Bill Kilpack said.

Victory Wrestling debuted Nov. 24 at the Northern Region Little League Championships in Pleasant View. Eight members competed, and all of them placed. Victory Wrestling Club is offered through Jordan School District, in cooperation with Copper Hills High School.

The junior high state championships were held Jan. 30 at Alta High School. Victory Wrestling participant Garrick Kilpack place fifth overall at 120 pounds.

In the Northern Utah State Festival, first grader Calvin Price placed first at 60 pounds; second grader Coleman Dearden placed third at 60 pounds; and fourth grader Zach Nope placed third at 65 pounds.

The coaches hope that learning to wrestle at a younger age will help the athletes be better prepared when they reach high school age.

Copper Hills High School wrestlers started off their season with convincing team wins over Riverton (45-33) and Northridge (47-24). The Grizzlies clinched the Region 3 championship with a 51-17 win over Brighton Jan. 28.

Copper Hills qualified a school record 14 wrestlers for the state tournament. (To qualify, each wrestler had to finish eighth or higher at the sectionals Feb. 6-7.)

The wrestlers who qualified for the Feb. 12-13 state tournament are Scott Kerlo, Jordan Marshall, Jayden Marshall,  Joey Revelli, Landon Anderson, Jonathan Olson,  Brodee Henderson, Branden Hudson, Quinten Westbrook, Jade Solomona, Hayden Reed, Alex Rixe, Craig Aguilar and Braxton Weixler.