Skip to main content

West Jordan Journal

Outstanding Teachers of 2020

Jul 13, 2020 01:41PM ● By Jet Burnham

By Jet Burnham | [email protected]

Jordan Education Foundation honored 61 teachers—one from every school in Jordan District—as this year’s Outstanding Educators. JEF members were joined by proud principals, colleagues, family members and even neighbors to surprise the educators with balloons, yard signs, gift bags, honking and cheering outside their homes and schools.

“I think the timing could not have been better,” said JEF Executive Director Steven Hall, who acknowledged teachers have worked extra hard this year. “I think it was an absolute morale boost for all of our teachers, not just the ones who were recognized, but all of the teachers that we’re able to celebrate. They don't expect pats on the back, but they deserve them.”

The 2020 JEF Outstanding Educators from this area are:

Cara Hagman, Columbia Elementary Astros – West Jordan

Lorene Fullmer, Copper Canyon Elementary

Heather Saunders, Falcon Ridge School

Clareen Arnold, Fox Hollow Elementary

Sharra Palmer, Hayden Peak Elementary

Amelia Paasi, Heartland Elementary

Marci Law, Jordan Hills Elementary School

Suzette Johnson, Majestic Elementary

Kasey Dahl, Mountain Shadows Elementary School

Tracey Davies, Oakcrest Elementary School

Megan Daly, Oquirrh Elementary

Emily Mitarai, Riverside Elementary School

Kristi Matthews, Terra Linda Elementary

Amy Allen, West Jordan Elementary

Larah Lewis, Westland Elementary School

Amanda Moon, Westvale Elementary

Jose Farias, Joel P Jensen Middle School

Joey Davis, Sunset Ridge Middle School

Carina Whiteside, West Hills Middle School

Jorge Ibanez, West Jordan Middle School

Rae Boren, Copper Hills High School

Michael Jacobson, West Jordan High School

Kari Worthington, JATC – North Campus

Trevor Stookey, South Valley School

Local recipients of JEF student scholarships:

Aniuska Semprun, Copper Hills High School

Jacquelinne Bolanos, West Jordan High School

Emily Rhodes, Valley High School

Mitchelle Vallejo, Bingham High School

Ezra McFarland, Riverton High School