Skip to main content

West Jordan Journal

Burton retains mayoral seat, four council seats look different and slightly familiar

Jan 05, 2024 01:43PM ● By Travis Barton

Dirk Burton, pictured here voting in 2019, retained his seat as mayor defeating challenger Kayleen Whitelock with 60% of the vote. (File photo courtesy West Jordan City)

West Jordan will have a two-term mayor. 

Mayor Dirk Burton won a second term at the late-November election, defeating Councilmember Kayleen Whitelock with 60% of the vote. 

“I want to thank all my supporters and the many people who answered and visited with me when I knocked on their door,” Burton wrote in a Facebook post the night of the election. “Whether you voted for me or not, I will continue to work hard to represent and serve you well. We make a better community when we appreciate different perspectives even when we disagree. We share much more in common than what divides us. Let’s make a great future for all of West Jordan!”

Burton is the second mayor in West Jordan’s history, dating back to 1967, to earn a second term. The last mayor to do so was Junius Burton in 1977. 

While the mayoral seat was decided between two current elected officials, races in Districts 1 and 2 were contested by nonincumbents. District 2’s Melissa Worthen moved to Colorado in October and Councilmember Chris McConnehey of District 1 did not run again, having served in the position since 2012. 

District 1 will see a familiar face take the dais again in Chad Lamb, who beat Rulon Green with 64% of the vote. Lamb was elected to an at-large councilmember position in 2017 before losing out on reelection in 2021 also as an at-large. 

District 2 saw Bob Bedore defeat Gary Leany with 54% of the vote. 

The other two district races had incumbents facing challengers where one earned another term in office while the other came up just short. 

Councilmember Zach Jacob will begin his third term representing District 3, having warded off challenger Sterling Morris with 65% of the vote. 

David Pack of District 4 however will bow out having fallen to Kent Shelton, who won with 57% of the vote.λ